top of page

Past Bouchercons Guests of Honor 2020 - 2010

Bouchercon LI · Sacramento, California· October 16 – 17, 2020

“Where Murder is a Capitol Crime”

Special Guest of Honor:  Scott Turow

Lifetime Achievement:  Walter Mosley
Distinguished Guest of Honor:  Anne Perry
International Guest of Honor:  Anthony Horowitz
Local Guest of Honor:  Cara Black
Fan Guest of Honor:  Janet A. Rudolph
Toastmaster:  Catriona McPherson

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Al Abramson

Chairs: Rae James and Michele Drier



Bouchercon L · Dallas, Texas· October 30 – November 3,  2019

“Denim, Diamonds and Death”

Distinguished Contribution to the Genre: James Patterson

American Guest of Honor: Hank Phillippi Ryan
International Guest of Honor: Felix Francis
Lifetime Achievement Guest of Honor: Peter Lovesey
Local Guest of Honor: Deborah Crombie
Toastmaster: Harry Hunsicker
Fan Guest of Honor: Mckenna Jordan
Special Guests: Sandra Brown and Charlaine Harris

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Don and Jenn Longmuir

Chair: Carol Puckett



Bouchercon XLIX · St. Petersburg, Florida· September 6-9, 2018


“Sunny Place, Shady People”

American Guests of Honor: Karin Slaughter and Sean Chercover
International Guests of Honor: Sara Blaedel and Mark Billingham
Lifetime Achievement (and not done yet) Guest of Honor: Ian Rankin
Local Guest of Honor: Tim Dorsey
Toastmaster: Lisa Unger
Fan Guests of Honor: Judy Bobalik and Ayo Onatade
Ghost of Honor: John D. MacDonald

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Lesa Holstine

Chairs: Erin Mitchell, Jon Jordan, and Ruth Jordan



Bouchercon XLVIII · Toronto, Canada · October 12-15, 2017

“Passport to Murder”

American Guest of Honour: Megan Abbott
Canadian Guest of Honour: Louise Penny
B’Con4Kids Guest of Honour: Chris Grabenstein
International Guest of Honour: Christopher Brookmyre
Distinguished Contribution to the Genre: Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
Toastmasters: Twist Phelan and Gary Phillips
Fan Guest of Honour: Margaret Cannon
Ghost of Honour: John Buchan

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: George Easter

Chairs: Helen Nelson and Janet Costello



Bouchercon XLVII · New Orleans, LA · September 15-18, 2016

“Blood on the Bayou”

Lifetime Achievement: David Morrell
American Guests of Honor: Harlan Coben
Bouchercon Kids Guest of Honor:  R. L. Stine
International Rising Star Guest of Honor: Craig Robertson
Toastmasters: Harley Jane Kozak and Alexandra Sokoloff
Local Legend: Julie Smith
Fan Guests of Honor: Jon and Ruth Jordan

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Otto Penzler

Chairs: Heather Graham and Connie Perry



Bouchercon XLVI · Raleigh, NC · Oct 8-11, 2015

“Murder Under the Oaks”

Lifetime Achievement : Margaret Maron
American Guests of Honor : Dr. Kathy Reichs & Tom Franklin
International Guests of Honor : Zoë Sharp & Allan Guthrie
Toastmasters : Lori Armstrong & Sean Doolittle
Local Guest of Honor : Sarah Shaber
Fan Guests of Honor : Lucinda Surber & Stan Ulrich

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Bill and Toby Gottfried

Chair : Al Abramson




Bouchercon XLV · Long Beach, CA · Nov 13-16, 2014

“Murder at the Beach”

Toastmaster : Simon Wood
Fan Guest of Honor : Al Abramson
American Guest of Honor : J.A. Jance
International Guest of Honor : Edward Marston
YA Guest of Honor : Eoin Colfer
Lifetime Achievement : Jeffery Deaver

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Judy Bobalik

Chair : Ingrid Willis



Bouchercon XLIV · Albany, NY · Sep 19-22, 2013

“a New York State of crime…”

Lifetime Achievement : Sue Grafton
International Guest of Honor : Anne Perry
American Guest of Honor : Tess Gerritsen
Toastmaster : Steve Hamilton
Fan Guests of Honor : Chris Aldrich & Lynn Kaczmarek

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Marv Lachman

Chair : Al Abramson

Bouchercon XLIII · Cleveland, Ohio · Oct 4-7, 2012

“Crime fiction Rocks!”

American Guest of Honor : Elizabeth George
Distinguished Contribution to the Genre : Robin Cook
Lifetime Achievement : Mary Higgins Clark
Special Cleveland Guest : Les Roberts
Fan Guest of Honor : Doris Ann Norris
Toastmaster : John Connolly

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award:  Len and June Moffatt

Chair : Marjory Mogg

Bouchercon XLII · Saint Louis, Missouri · Sept 15-18, 2011

“Spirits of St. Louis”

American Guests of Honor : Robert Crais & Charlaine Harris
International Guests of Honor : Colin Cotterill & Val McDermid
Lifetime Achievement : Sara Paretsky
Fan Guests of Honor : Kate Stine & Brian Skupin
Special Guests (local living legends) : Bob Randisi & John Lutz
Toastmaster : Ridley Pearson

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award: Ali Karim

Chair(s) : Jon Jordan, David Thompson–in memoriam

Bouchercon XLI · San Francisco, California · Oct 14-17, 2010

“Bouchercon by the Bay”

Distinguished Contribution to the Genre : Lee Child
International Guest of Honor : Denise Mina
American Guest of Honor : Laurie R. King
Toastmaster : Eddie Muller
Fan Guest of Honor : Maddy Van Hertbruggen

Chair : Rae Helmsworth

bottom of page